Take a Ride Through Seattle's History
MarQueen Hotel, built in 1918 as the Seattle Engineering School, housed Henry Ford's students. These blacksmiths developed the Model-T, the first affordable car for the middle-class. This iconic history is still seen throughout the property, engineered with charming touches and nods to it's unique ride to success.
The History of the Marqueen Hotel
- 1918 Originally constructed as the Seattle Engineering School, the building was developed as a housing and training facility for blacksmiths working at the Ford assembly plant.
- 1920 The Seattle Engineering School opened the Kuay Garage (pronounced Q-A), a training establishment and auto repair shop, later renamed MarQueen Garage.
- 1926 Vance Lumber Company acquired the building, which was then remodeled into MarQueen Apartments with 70 units.
- 1976 MarQueen Garage moved up to Queen Anne Hill, where it is still located today.
- 1990 Renovation began on the MarQueen Apartments.
- 1998 MarQueen Hotel officially opened alongside Tin Lizzie Lounge, weaving in the 1920s era in which the building was first constructed.
MOHAI, PEMCO Webster & Stevens Collection, 1983.10.3598